Board of Directors

Gordon Galt
Non-Executive Chairman

Gordon is a mining engineer with extensive coal industry experience in Australia since the early 1970's. In Queensland he worked at South Blackwater, gaining his First Class Mine Manager's qualifications in 1976, then was one of the key early development team members at Capcoal German Creek in 1977.  He was initially Open Cut Manager then Mine Manager at Central Colliery - Queensland's first longwall mine and for many years Australia's most productive underground coal mine.  He was then Development Manager for Southern Colliery, also at German Creek in 1987.  In 1991, Gordon was appointed Operations Manager at Ulan Coal in NSW.  He became General Manager at Ulan in 1993, then Managing Director at Cumnock Coal in 1996 before roles as Managing Director with Newcrest Mining and in investment banking with ABN AMRO.  Gordon is currently Chairman of Nucoal Resources Limited and Lefroy Exploration Limited and is a Non-Executive Director of Finders Resources Limited.
Michael Davies BA Hons, MBA.
Non-executive Director

Mr Davies is a Principal of Taurus Funds Management Pty Ltd, and is a specialist in resource financing, with over 20 years experience in major banks (Barclays, BZW and ABN AMRO) originating, structuring and arranging debt and providing corporate advice to natural resources companies.

Staffan Ever MBA MSc Civ Eng, MAICD
Non-executive Director

Mr Ever is a highly experienced executive in the coal sector with experience in managing and financing coal projects from greenfields through to production coupled with extensive experience in coal marketing and mergers and acquisitions.

His previous roles include, CEO of QCoal, Managing Partner of Triangle Fund, 12 years in various roles with AMCI including General Manager of AMCI Australia and Director, on behalf of AMCI, on all Australian investee companies. He has undertaken and overseen equity investments and/or divestments in the Gunneda, Glennies Creek, Alliance, Coppabella, Moorevale and Sonoma mines.

Mr. Ever is currently the Managing Director and Founder of the Square Group of Companies.

James Beecher B Com MBA, FCPA FAICD
Non-executive Director

Mr Beecher has more than 40 years’ experience in senior finance, accounting and secretarial positions in resources, financial services and services companies. He has been Chief Financial Officer or Finance Director of NRMA Limited, Savage Resources Limited and Austen & Butta Limited. At the Commonwealth Bank in the role of Deputy CFO he held senior positions including Group Financial Controller and Group Chief Accountant. He is currently a Director of ASX listed Lefroy Exploration Ltd, CBG Capital Ltd and NuCoal Resources Ltd. He has been a Non-Executive Director of Findlay Securities Ltd and MIL Resources Ltd, the Company Secretary of Gloucester Coal Limited and a Compliance Committee Member of FSP Funds Management Ltd and Abacus Funds Management Ltd. He is Deputy Chair of the Australian Institute of Company Directors’ Reporting Committee.

Michael Rosengren BEng (Mining, First Class Honours), FAusIMM, MAICD
Managing Director

Mr Rosengren obtained a BEng (Mining, First Class Honours) from the University of Queensland in 1984. He was Queensland Rhodes Scholar for 1985. He attended Oxford University, completing a B Arts in 1987, and then obtained an MSc (Mineral Production Management) from the University of London in 1988. On return to Australia, Michael joined Mount Isa Mines, progressing to Enterprise Mine Manager. He then worked as Resident Manager on construction and operation of the Timbarra Gold Mine in NSW followed by 18 months as General Manager with the Department of Environmental Protection in Western Australia. In 2002, he became Operations Manager Mining, East Coast, with Henry Walker Eltin before moving to Thiess with roles as Executive Mining Manager – Queensland; General Manager - Queensland across civil, building, mining and rail enterprises; and ultimately Executive General Manager for Australian Mining. Michael joined BHP Billiton in 2011, with responsibility for Poitrel and South Walker Creek open cuts in Queensland. In 2013 he became Vice-President, Production, for additional mines including Illawarra Coal, New Mexico Coal, Cerrejon and Indomet. He left BHPB in late 2014 and since that time has worked in private companies and consulting roles.

  Subscribe to Email Alerts